28 September 2020

Women’s Sport Trust #BeAGameChanger Award Winners Announced

May 16, 2016

Andy Murray & Football’s Lionesses Among Those Recognised as Key Contributors to Women’s Sporting Success.


At a star-studded event in London last week, the winners of the 2016 #BeAGameChanger Awards organised by the Women’s Sport Trust were announced. The awards, now in their second year, are designed to showcase the incredible talent from across women’s sport, and to highlight the need for media, sponsors and the public to invest at all levels.

The following teams and individuals, the result of a public vote, were recognised at the event:

  • Sporting Role Model – Andy Murray
  • Sporting Role Model – England Football Team (Lionesses)
  • Ambassador of Women’s Sport – Heather Bamforth
  • Sponsor partnership – Ricoh UK, Women’s Sport
  • NGB of the Year – British Rowing
  • Inspiring initiative (regional) – Women’s Climbing Symposium
  • Inspiring initiative (national) – parkrun UK
  • Media Initiative of the Year – BBC Women’s Sport Week
  • Journalist of the Year – Sarah Shephard
  • Imagery of the Year – Adidas #heretocreate campaign

The awards evening was hosted by sports journalist and broadcaster Reshmin Chowdhury, with a powerful keynote speech from John Amaechi, the high performance executive coach and the only Briton to have his NBA jersey ‘retired’ in the US Basketball Hall of Fame.

Jo Bostock, co-founder of the Women’s Sport Trust, said: “The public involvement in this year’s awards has been outstanding. Not only have we seen a huge increase in participation in terms of voting, but the conversation across social media has shown the huge appetite that exists for women’s sport.

The Women’s Sports Magazine


You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Select a sport

Find out how to get started, training plans and expert advice.