29 September 2020

Tennis: Aegon GB Fed Cup Team announced

January 8, 2013

The Lawn Tennis Association (LTA) has announced the team to contest the Fed Cup by BNP Paribas Europe/Africa Zone Group I tie that will take place from 6-9 February at the Municipal Tennis Club in Eilat, Israel.

The Aegon GB Fed Cup Team will comprise of Heather Watson, Laura Robson, Anne Keothavong and Johanna Konta. Elena Baltacha who is currently recovering from injury will also be travelling as she remains a key part of the team’s 2013 campaign. The team will be led by Judy Murray who was appointed as GB Fed Cup Captain in December 2011.

Commenting on the selections, Judy Murray said: “Last year’s Fed Cup was a great experience for all of us and we came close to securing a place in the World Group for the first time since 1995. Heather and Laura have pushed themselves up into the top 50 in the WTA rankings this year and they will have wonderfully experienced back-up in Anne and Bally who have 22 Fed Cups between them.”

“Jo Konta makes her debut on the team after a terrific 2012 season which saw her break into the top 150.  We have a great squad and we will be aiming to put ourselves in World Group contention once again.”

British number 1 Heather Watson ended 2012 at a career-best No. 49 (currently No. 47) in the world winning her first career WTA singles title at the Japan Open. Compatriot Laura Robson joins the Top 50 – the first time Britain has two women ranked as high since July 1987.

The Aegon GB Fed Cup Team will contest the Europe/Africa Zone Group I, alongside 15 other nations, all vying to take the top two spots and progress to the World Group II play offs in April.

Bianca Fermi, Sportsister
The Women’s Sports Magazine

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Select a sport

Find out how to get started, training plans and expert advice.