06 December 2021

Awards: Britain’s sports journalists name Ennis Sportswoman of the Year

December 7, 2012
Awards: Ennis nominated for prestigious Laureus World Sports Award

Jessica Ennis received the Sportswoman of the Year award for the third time in four years yesterday at the SJA British Sports Awards.


Image credit: Mark Shearman

The Awards, which celebrated one of the busiest ever years for Britain’s sports journalists, saw the Olympic heptathlon champion poll two-thirds of the votes cast to hold off double sculls gold medallist Katherine Grainger and double Olympic gold medal cyclist Laura Trott.

First staged in 1949, the SJA awards are the country’s longest-running sports awards with votes coming from a membership of more than 750 sports writers, broadcasters, photographers and editors.

The Disabled Sports Personality of the Year award was added in 1963, and in recognition of the huge success of the London 2012 Paralympics two awards were made this year with Sarah Storey taking the women’s prize and David Weir the men’s.

Storey’s impressive tally of four cycling golds in London saw her secure the honour for the second time, having previously won the SJA title as a swimmer 19 years ago.

The JL Manning Award for an Outstanding Contribution to Sport was presented to Lord Coe, chairman of the London Olympic and Paralympic organising committee, while Sir Michael Parkinson gave his President’s Award to the Olympic double sculls gold medallists Anna Watkins and Katherine Grainger.

Ennis also received the Pat Besford Trophy for the outstanding performance of the year, having broken the British heptathlon record as well as winning the Olympic gold medal during the season.

Barry Newcombe, chairman of the SJA committee, said: “It’s been probably the greatest year in the history of British sport, and certainly one of the busiest for our members.”

Full 2012 SJA Roll of Honour
Sportsman of the Year: Bradley Wiggins (Cycling)
Sportswoman of the Year: Jessica Ennis (Athletics)
Sports Team of the Year: Europe Ryder Cup (Golf)
Paralympic sport (men): David Weir (Wheelchair Athletics)
Paralympic sport (women): Sarah Storey (Cycling)
Best International Newcomer: Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Football)
Outstanding Performance: Jessica Ennis (Athletics)
Outstanding Contribution to Sport: Lord Coe
Spirit of Sport: Jonnie Peacock (Paralympian)
President’s Award: Katherine Grainger and Anna Watkins (Rowing)
Chairman’s Award: Jonny Marray (Tennis)

The Women’s Sports Magazine

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Select a sport

Find out how to get started, training plans and expert advice.