30 May 2020

Cricket: England to begin World Cup defense against Sri Lanka

December 4, 2012

The schedule for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2013 was yesterday announced, with England opening their World Cup defense against Sri Lanka on 2nd February in India.

England won the 2009 World Cup by beating New Zealand by four wickets in Sydney. England have been drawn in Group A, along with India, West Indies and Sri Lanka. Group B includes Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and South Africa.

India will host the tournament for the third time, beginning with the opening match against West Indies on 31st January. The final will be held at the Wankheded Stadium, Mumbai on 17th February.

Suru Nayak, the Tournament Director, said: ” The world’s leading female cricketers will display their skills on grounds where some of the greatest cricketers of all time have practically grown up.”

Tournament schedule (initial stages):
31 Jan – India v West Indies (D/N), Wankhede Stadium; Australia v Pakistan, BKC
1 Feb – New Zealand v South Africa (D/N), Wankhede Stadium
2 Feb – England v Sri Lanka, Wankhede Stadium
3 Feb – New Zealand v Pakistan, BKC; Australia v South Africa, CCI
4 Feb – India v England, Wankhede Stadium; Sri Lanka v West Indies, MIG
5 Feb – Pakistan v South Africa, BKC; Australia v New Zealand (D/N), DY Patil
6 Feb – India v Sri Lanka, Wankhede Stadium; England v West Indies (D/N), CCI

Bianca Fermi, Sportsister

The Women’s Sports Magazine

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Select a sport

Find out how to get started, training plans and expert advice.