01 October 2022

2011 Capital One World Women’s Curling Championship

March 16, 2011

When: March 18-24, 2011

Where: Granly Hockey Arena, Esjberg, Denmark

Details: This year’s Capital One World Women’s Curling Championship presented by Mount Titlis is taking place in the Granly Hockey Arena, Esjberg, and will have the honour of a royal opening, with His Royal Highness Crown Prince Frederik of Denmark throwing the first ceremonial stone as the culmination of the opening ceremony on Friday 18th March 2011.

Following this, twelve of the best women’s teams in the world will battle it out in seventeen sessions of round-robin play, scheduled from straight after the opening ceremony on Friday 18th March until the evening of Thursday 24th March.

It is the first time in the 33 year history of the World Women’s Championship that Denmark has staged the event. The twelve teams who have qualified to compete are: Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Korea, Norway, Russia, Scotland, Sweden, Switzerland and the USA.

While there are many familiar names among the competitors, there are also many new names and team combinations.

Reigning Women’s World Champion Andrea Schöpp of Germany has qualified to defend her title with a slightly changed team line-up. Two-timed Olympic Gold Medallist, Sweden’s Anette Norberg, skips a new team.

Other well-known skips and teams taking part include 2009 World Champion Bingyu Wang and her team from China; Denmark’s  Lene Neilsen; Switzerland’s Mirjam Ott; Norway’s Linn Githmark;  Russia’s Liudmila Privivkova; and – making her first appearance at a Women’s World Championship since 2004 – Patti Lank, representing the USA.

Among the newcomers are Saskatchewan’s Amber Holland, who won her first Canadian Women’s Championship title earlier in the year; Anna Kubeskova of the Czech Republic who won the final European spot in Esbjerg by winning the challenge game at the 2010 European Championships; Korea’s Ji-Sun Kim represented the host nation when the World Championship was staged in South Korea in 2009 but returns this year skipping the team that won the Pacific Championships Women’s title and finally, Anna Sloan from Scotland, who skips a team which, including herself, has four members who have just won Gold at the 2011 World Junior Curling Championships in Perth, Scotland.

It will be the 33rd World Women’s Championship since the event began in 1979. In that time Canada has won the title a record 15 times, with Sweden claiming it 7 times.

More info: www.wwcc2011.com/tickets

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Select a sport

Find out how to get started, training plans and expert advice.